10 Best BTS Songs of 2020 From album Map Of The Soul: 7

BTS songs 2020: the most popular Korean Boy Band have released their new most anticipated album Map Of The Soul: 7 on February 21, 2020. It’s been a months of its release and the album is doing a number across all music platforms and dominating charts!

10 Best BTS Songs of 2020 From album Map Of The Soul: 7

When BTS released their new album Map of the Soul: 7 in 2020, it was obvious that it would lead the Billboard 200 the following week. What did end up being surprising when the title was named the champion on the all-genre ranking of the most-consumed full-lengths in the country is the number of units it was able to shift in just seven days.

10 Best BTS Songs of 2020 at glance:

  • My Time
  • ON
  • Inner Child
  • UGH
  • 00:00 (Zero O'Clock)
  • Interlude: Shadow
  • We Are Bulletproof
  • Louder than bombs
  • Respect
  • Outro: Ego

1. My Time

BTS' first lead-up single off Map of the Soul: 7, "Black Swan" was released on Jan. 17, and was all about pouring their heart into their creativity, art, and music. However, the song also touched on BTS' fear of losing their passion for their music, proving the boys have a wide range of writing music. Now that the lyrics for "My Time" have been translated into English, we know the song is all about Jungkook's innermost feelings from the time he was just a trainee with BTS up until the present.

2. ON

It is the seventh most-watched online video in the first 24 hours, and the fifth most-watched YouTube video in this period of time; it gained 46.5 million views in this time frame.

The second official music video was released on February 28, 2020 at 0:00 KST. Within minutes of its release, the video made the biggest YouTube premier of all time, with 1.54 concurrent viewers. The video reached 10 million views in one hour, surpassing the record of "Boy With Luv", taking the shortest time for a Korean video to achieve this. The video includes references of many movies and television shows, mainly the movie The Maze Runner. Other references include those to Bird Box, Handmaids Tale, The Lion King, Game Of Thrones, Narnia, and Dolittle. The video also includes a reference to the Biblical stories of Noah's Ark and Adam and Eve. The music video garnered 43.8 million views on its first day, surpassing Taylor Swift's "Look What You Made Me Do" as the seventh most-viewed video on YouTube in the first 24 hours.

3. Inner Child

This song is the fourteenth track of BTS' album “MAP OF THE SOUL 7,” which is sung by V. This song is one of V’s five solos. The song reminisces about the past and how things change, but also relays the message that even though V, or the whole group changes, they will continue to do their best for their fans and everyone who’s supported them.

In a press release held by Big Hit (BTS' label), various news sources reported that Big Hit said this song was V writing to and reflecting on his past struggles and younger self.

4. UGH

“UGH!” is the 12th track out of BTS “ MAP OF THE SOUL 7 ”, rapped by BTS' rap line: RM, SUGA and J-hope. The track discusses the rage surrounding the group and the hate comments they have got and are still getting. The group is known for releasing songs about the hate comments they get, such as “MIC DROP”, “DDAENG” and “Cypher pt 4”.

5. 00:00 (Zero O'Clock)

BTS’s song 00:00 is part of the 20 song album, Map of the Soul: 7, which is also called MOTS:7 for short. The song was released at 4AM EST, February 21st, 2020 and has gotten much attention from ARMY’s all over the world. Theories have been set for the album, and one of them stated, “The album is going to resemble O!RUL8 2?” from the album released September 11th, 2013. The song features mostly of the vocal line of the group, with a small part of the whole group along with it.

6. Interlude: Shadow

“Interlude: Shadow” is the backing song of the first comeback trailer for BTS' full-length album Map of the Soul: 7. The hip hop track samples their earlier 2013 song “Intro: O!RUL8,2?” and features the group’s rapper Suga, or Min Yoongi as he recounts the struggles of not wanting to reach one’s own dreams in fear of the darkness, or shadow, that comes with them.

Opening with the narration of his aspirations, the passionate song devolves to reveal the fear of things like loneliness and burning out young. The track then ends with the sentiment that everyone feels this way and that this feeling is unavoidable, ultimately leaving a sense of acceptance.

7. We Are Bulletproof

“We Are Bulletproof : The Eternal” is the 18th song on BTS' 2020 album Map of the Soul : 7. It seems to be the final installation of the group’s ongoing series of “We Are Bulletproof Pt. 1” and “We are Bulletproof Pt. 2”.

The emotional track contrasts the pain of being “only seven” to the happiness of having “all of you now”, and celebrating their identity, being “forever bulletproof”.

8. Louder than bombs

This song appears to be symbolizing the loudness of bombs to two things: pain and success. In the first chorus, BTS say how they go through a significant suffering, described as breaking louder than bombs. Throughout the song, they describe how they hope for better days and then leading into how they will fight against any hard times while accepting it as they chose to be artists. They begin to develop confidence as can be seen and they’re no longer afraid and will not run away anymore. The song ends with BTS saying how they’ve taken the pain and fear and after accepting it and moving past it, they’re now singing louder than bombs with confidence and determination for even greater things to come.
So it basically told us not to be afraid of anything and to be confidence always and stand strong, no matter what.

9. Respect

“Respect” is BTS 17th track from album MAP OF THE SOUL: 7. The rap song performed by SUGA and RM discuss the aspects of the word “respect” and the disrespect and hypocrisy of people to each other. Also the spectrum of people’s admiration to artists and the industry. The song contains lyrical references of some of their older songs, such as 이사 (Moving On) and Epilogue: Young Forever.

10. Outro: Ego

“Outro: Ego” serves as the outro track for BTS‘ fourth full-length studio album, Map of the Soul: 7, and it was released prior to the album’s drop date as a comeback trailer.

Following “Interlude: Shadow", "Outro: Ego” contrasts it with a more upbeat, vibrant vibe sampling music from BTS' 2013 track “Intro: 2 Cool 4 Skool”.

The lyrics describe the development of finding trust in ones' own ego, which is a famous archetype referenced by Carl Jung, the psychologist inspiring the Map of the Soul era. The ego, according Jung, is the central part of consciousness, meaning it is the part of an individual that the individual is most aware of—usually having to do with identity. In “Outro: Ego”, Hoseok recounts his past experiences and identities in order to reach the conclusion that he trusts who he has been, who he is now, and who he will be.


Post a Comment