The Highest Military Awards of U.S, UK & Australia

I hope you are applying every inch of hard work and effort to earn the prestigious uniform of the Armed Forces. In this blog, you are going to discover the highest military awards of the United States, United Kingdom and Australia.

1. Medal of Honor - USA

Medal of Honor - USA

First awarded: March 25, 1863

Distinct recipients: 3,506

Awarded for: Conspicuous gallantry and intrepidity at the risk of life above and beyond the call of duty

Eligibility: Military personnel only

The Medal of Honor is the United States of America's highest and most-prestigious personal military decoration that may be awarded to recognize U.S. military service members who have distinguished themselves by acts of valor. The medal is normally awarded by the President of the United States in the name of the U.S. Congress. Because the medal is presented "in the name of Congress", it is incorrectly known as the "Congressional Medal of Honor".

According to the Medal of Honor Historical Society of the United States, there have been 3,525 Medals of Honor awarded to 3,506 individuals since the decoration's creation, with over 40% awarded for actions during the American Civil War. In 1990, Congress designated March 25 annually as "National Medal of Honor Day". Since 1948, the Medal of Honor and all service decorations awarded to members of the armed forces by any of the armed services have been afforded special protection under U.S. law against any unauthorized adornment, sale, or manufacture, which includes any associated ribbon or badge.

2. The Victoria Cross - UK

The Victoria Cross

First awarded: 1857

Established: 5 February 1856

Total awarded: 1,358

Distinct recipients: 1,355

The Victoria Cross (VC) is the highest and most prestigious award of the British honours system. It is awarded for valour "in the presence of the enemy" to members of the British Armed Forces. It may be awarded posthumously. It was previously awarded to Commonwealth countries, most of which have established their own honours systems and no longer recommend British honours. It may be awarded to a person of any military rank in any service and to civilians under military command although no civilian has received the award since 1879. Since the first awards were presented by Queen Victoria in 1857, two-thirds of all awards have been personally presented by the British monarch. These investitures are usually held at Buckingham Palace.

3. Victoria Cross for Australia

the victoria cross australia

Last awarded: 12 August 2020

Posthumous awards: 2

Instituted: 16 January 2009

Total awarded: 5

Post-nominals: VC

Eligibility: Australian military personnel

The Victoria Cross for Australia is the highest award in the Australian Honours System, superseding the British Victoria Cross for issue to Australians. The Victoria Cross for Australia is the "decoration for according recognition to persons who in the presence of the enemy, perform acts of the most conspicuous gallantry, or daring or pre-eminent acts of valour or self-sacrifice or display extreme devotion to duty.


Post a Comment